Suomen Lasimuseo

Marianne Aav, Eeva Viljanen:
Iittala, 125 Years of Finnish Glass: Complete History with All Designers
24x28,3cm, 270 sivua/pages
ISBN 3-89790-250-8
Loppuunmyyty / Sold out

The first Iittala competition was held in 1946 in order to promote innovation in engraved glass. It was won by the artists Tapio Wirkkala (1915-1985) and Kaj Franck (1911-1989), whom Iittala eventually employed as glass designers; Timo Sarpaneva (b. 1926) started working for Iittala in 1951. Both Wirkkala and Sarpaneva triumphed at the Milan Triennales in the 1950s, thus ensuring international acclaim for Finnish glass. Another cornerstone in the company's history was the famous "Aalto vase" which the legendary architect and designer Alvar Aalto (1898-1976) designed for Iittala.

A survey of the most beautiful and interesting designs in glass - art glass objects as well as utility glass - by this leading Finnish glassworks, focusing chiefly on the 1950s and 1960s.


  • Foreword Marianne Aav
  • Iittala Glassworks Markku Tasala
  • Iittala: a View From London Jennifer Hawkins Opie
  • The Vase Teases, Pleases and Lasts the Course Kimmo Sarje
  • A Union of Art and Industry From Iittala to Milan and Beyond Marianne Aav
  • 125 Years of Clear Iittala Crystal Kaisa Koivisto
  • Iittala oy ab - a Line Woven From Many Threads Päivi Jantunen
  • Illustrated Catalogue
    • Characterization of the Designers Johanna Luhtala
    • Documentation Salla Heino, Susanna Vakkari, Merja Vilhunen
    • Glossary Susanna Vakkari
  • Refrences
  • Literature
  • Index

Takaisin / Back